Initial D! Whoo! (fan-subs>english dub)

4 04 2008

Initial D!!!!

I’ve been an Initial D Fan for many, many years. I remember hearing about it first when i was a wee tyke in Junior High School. It was then, and is now, good stuff.

Recently, I decided to start re-watching all of it, from 1st Stage to 4th with everything in between. I have yet to finish 4th Stage completely, but damn, it’s still just as good as I remembered. This time around, I decided to “try-out” the English Dub by Funimation…

All I have to say is, “wow, that shit sucked.” I almost made it all the way through 1st Stage with the Dub, but by the last five or so episodes, I’d had enough. It’s like the show was completely different. I loathed it. The reason I decided to try the Dub was because I would watch the episodes before I went to sleep, so I really didn’t feel like reading text on the screen. I know most super-anime-otaku would say that watching it in Japanese is the only way to go, and for the most part, I’d have to agree. But then again, a properly done Sub has it’s place in my library.

The three places where the Initial D Dubs lacked was:

  1. Character Names – “Yo Tak!” Cole, Iggy, Natalie, Maya, Simone, Kent, KT, Ry….. that all equals lame-sauce, enough said.
  2. Personality Change – I don’t know if it’s just me, but the characters seemed different. “Tak” seemed more into racing and more “energetic” than O.G-stylz Takumi.
  3. Story Diversion – For the most part, this stayed true to J-Spec, but there were some weird differences that I picked up because I knew it was different when I had seen it in the subbed version. Some instances, Natsuki’s enjo kosai action was dialed down, and instead of Mako/Maya saying she was gonna give up her virginity to Iketani/Cole became, “I’ll be your girlfriend.” That made the whole story arc weaker.
  4. Soundtrack!!!! – I think this in most fans books (mine too) is the worst omission. The rap/hip-hop track in the English Dub is really lame. It doesn’t go at all with the battles. The Europop simply enhanced the experience and grew in energy as the battle raged on.
Note: I also began to miss the JDM voices. I know this is something that has to be changed with a Dub, but I missed hearing Shingo’s sadistic laugh during the Gum-Tape Death Match.

Anyway, on to the rest of the series. Going back to JDM-Mode was awesome. You could obviously see the advances in the animation from series-to-series. My favorite was when they started going cel-shaded (4th Stage). Not only did it look the best, but I felt it flowed more with the rest of the show.

It’d be really cool to see the entire series reanimated with 4th Stage animation style. It would look soooooooooooooo good!

I haven’t finished the entire series, so I’ll have to finish that up and post about it later.

Fan-Subs 4Ever!

-Richie

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 12 2008
Jay

Dude r u sure you know what ur talkin about? i went to funimation to check it out and they dont even have initial d. Hard to believe when theres no proof to be found.

19 12 2008

Leave a Reply

